wifi configuration in my dell laptop

I installed debian operating system in my dell laptop one year ago.I made lots of changes in the os and installed too many packages that I needed.yah, its working fine then.Whenever I get stuck with any issue in os, always there is solution to that.Recently I executed the software update in my system, and some packages got updated.I don’t know, some thing happened to the system, and touchpad was not working then. 😦

Googling is a nice art, we can get a lot of solution. I found some remedy to make touchpad working fine.I created a synaptics.conf file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d and updated it with the touchpad configuration details.Then I execute the command,

sudo modprobe -r psmouse

sudo modprobe psmouse proto=imps

Now the touchpad worked for that login session.But after restart, my system always boots in tty prompt.The graphical user interface was not at all opened.I thought it was because of the file I created.I removed the entire xorg.conf.d folder that I created.But I was not able to open GUI window for the login session.I tried some other configuration changes also, but it didn’t work.Its better to reinstall os again…. 😦

I got a debian-wheezy iso image.I made it bootable and installed in my laptop.Debian installation procedure is very simple, only thing we have to be more care while selecting the disk partition for root directory.Now its time to install other packages that I needed. I have wifi connection with me, but my system not detecting it.Thanks to hariska for the help to configure the wifi.

Here is the steps I followed:

first we have to find out which wlan hardware is there with our system.You can figure it out by executing the command,

dmesg | grep -i wireless

In my case it is iwlwifi (Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1000 BGN, REV=0x6C).

I connected my phone to get temporary internet connection to install wifi driver.I tried to install that package (apt-get install firmware-iwlwifi) . The message I got was permission denied. yah.. Debian won’t allow everyone to do every task.We have to get some privilege to do certain crucial tasks.I tried the installation with sudo(Super user do).The message was,
 
salman is not in the sudoers file.The incident will be reported. 😮
 

Next aim is to edit the sudoers file to get the super user privilege.I searched about it (https://wiki.debian.org/sudo).So we have to add the username in sudoers file(/etc/sudoers).For that first login with root password.(you can shift to root by typing su & give root password).Then type  visudo , it will open the sudoers file and add  the line,

username ALL = (ALL) ALL

in my case I added : salman ALL = (ALL) ALL.Logout and relogin to get effect the modification we have made.Now that problem rectified.Again I run the command,

sudo apt-get install firmware-iwlwifi

The message I got was Unable to locate the package.yah, we have to add a non-free repo in sources.list file.I opened that file,

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list, and added the following line

deb http://http.debian.net/debian/ wheezy main contrib non-free

Now after sudo apt-get update, I was able to install the package firmware-iwlwifi.After installation the changes have to effect in kernel also, so we need to run the commands,

modprobe -r iwlwifi; modprobe iwlwifi

wow, now the available wifi connections are showing in the network menu.We can choose the network and can do specific configuration if we needed.

Its time to install all extra packages and software through wifi… 😛

Happy Hacking. 🙂

About ashiksp

computer science & Engg student , N.S.S College of engineering palakkad
This entry was posted in Debian, Techy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

